The Bob Goalby of the LPGA: So Yeon Ryu | Right On Par

Latest Posts

The Bob Goalby of the LPGA: So Yeon Ryu

By: | April 11, 2017 / 0 Comments

As is appropriate during Masters week, we have a major champion who solely benefited from a rules infraction to win such a major. In this instance, it is So Yeon Ryu who made up four strokes on leader Lexi Thompson without either player playing a single shot. Naturally, that didn’t stop Ms. Ryu from jumping in the love canal of Palm Springs to celebrate the win. I would categorize such a celebration as an affront to civility and to the game of golf. The playoff winner was anything but a classy victor as she benefited from the failure of the LPGA to apply a statute of limitations to the finality of a round of golf. To apply this sort of logic holistically, video examination of all major championship strokes should be reviewed back to the availability of such records to assure that no infractions were not properly addressed. Perhaps Tiger could finally reach his goal of passing Jack as I am certain some penalty strokes could be addressed ex post facto for inadvertent actions taken in the 1970’s. For the LPGA’s first major of 2017, please forgive us for feeling that the true champion was not crowned. 

Categories: Latest Posts, On Tour

About George

George

George played most of his golf at Sunnehanna Country Club from seven years old to the present. Along the way, he collected some hardware and played college golf at Rollins College [ Country Club ], but is most proud of his two medals from the 1977 U.S. Junior. More than anything, golf is all about special family time, camaraderie with friends and travel to new and exciting venues.

Leave a Reply